原子序數:41
原子量:92.9064
密度:8.57 g/cc
熔點:2750 K, 2468 攝氏度, 4490 度 F
沸點:5017K, 4927 攝氏度, 8571 度 F
熱膨脹係數 (20 攝氏度):7.1 x 10-6/攝氏度
電阻率 (20 攝氏度):15 microhms 釐米
電導率:13.2% IACS
比熱:.126 cal g/攝氏度
熱導率:
.523 cal/cm2/釐米度 C/秒
晶體結構:密件副本
熱中子截面:1.1 b

加工鈮

所有的正常的加工技術可以用於鈮. 鈮有強烈的傾向癭. 需要特別注意支付工具設計和潤滑劑的使用. 在車削, 金屬的行為類似于軟銅. 建議使用高速模具與充分潤滑和冷卻以溶解油後在這裡給出的參數.

雖然可以使用硬質合金工具, 癭的趨勢更加明顯與他們與高速鋼. 車削加工, 金屬應剪切作用和允許滑落工具表面的晶片中刪除. 當晶片集結髮生時, 由此產生的壓力打破切削刃的工具.

一般在所附的表所示的加工建議給出令人滿意的結果. 最小的表面速度的 80 每分鐘英尺是重要. 較慢的速度會導致金屬撕, 特別是退火的股票. 通常, 未退火的金屬是首選車床的操作.

模具加工鈮的建議
方法角度:15-20 學位
側耙子:30-35 學位
側和結束間隙:5 學位
計畫救濟角度:15-20 學位
刀尖圓弧半徑:.020″-。 030″
切削速度:60-80 雙腳 / 用高速鋼分鐘; 250-300 雙腳 / 硬質合金刀具的分鐘
飼料, 粗加工 .008″-。 012″ / 革命
切削深度:.030″-。 125″

鑽井

標準高速鑽可以用較好的效果. 鑽的周邊土地應經常檢查過度磨損,防止鑽孔尺寸偏小.

磨削

磨削 很難. 最砂輪有載入的傾向, 和碳化矽車輪如金剛砂 120 T (粗磨) 120-R 或 150-R 和 (整理) 應使用. 有足夠的冷卻水供應,是可取的.

執行緒

可用來減少令人難堪的趨勢和由此撕裂從表面金屬足夠的潤滑劑時,可以使用執行緒的標準技術. 線上程處理較大的直徑, 它是更好地切削螺紋車床上,而不是一個執行緒的死. 當使用模具或水龍頭, 他們必須保持免費的晶片並經常清潔.

落料、 沖孔

模具和沖頭通常用於此目的的用鋼制令人滿意的鈮. A 6% 建議凸模和模之間的間隙. 輕質油或類似潤滑油應該用於防止得分模具.

形成衝壓

鈹銅, 鋁青銅, 和鋼可能用於工具. 使用的技術可以用於衝壓鋼相同. 應拋光工具,減少對癭盡可能多地傾向. 應使用輕質油或類似的潤滑劑, 再次,減少的機會拉毛.

拉深

退火的鈮可以深繪製沒有太多困難. 推薦用於表單衝壓工具材料也是好的繪圖操作. 可以完成單繪製在哪裡畫的深度不超過直徑的空白. 如果多個平局就應, 第一次抽籤不應該有一個大於深度 40% 毛坯直徑. 中間退火在真空中可能需要與多個畫. 磺化牛脂和詹森 ’ s 150 畫蠟可以用作潤滑劑.

紡紗

可以採用常規技術使用木成型機紡鈮和鋼輥車輪與足夠的潤滑劑磺化牛脂或詹森等一起 ’ s 150 蠟. 在室溫下進行紡紗. 鈹銅或鋁青銅器都有足夠的工具. 金屬小步驟或階段應該共事長清掃筆劃使用輕的壓力,而不是幾重筆.

焊接

如上文所述, 鈮是一種非常活潑的金屬. 它與所有常見氣體反應. 這種金屬也反應與表面的污染物,如油, 潤滑脂, 殘留物脫脂解決方案, 和從清潔如丙酮液體殘留物. 正是由於這些原因被焊接的金屬表面, 通過融合或電阻焊焊接之前必須絕對乾淨.

酸蝕液中 45 部分硝酸, 1 部分 hydroflouric 酸, 和其餘水在室溫下或達 65 攝氏度 (150 度 F) 是可以接受的. 如果需要更嚴厲的蝕刻行動的氫氟酸酸量可能會增加. 金屬應徹底沖洗後刻蝕, 最好是在蒸餾水或去離子水.

電阻焊

電阻焊的鈮和某些其他金屬鈮可以用常規的設備和技術. 因為它 ’ s 高熔點和相對較低的電阻, 鈮要求高的功率就能獲得良好的焊縫. 焊接時間應盡可能短, 最好是 1-10 秒 (60Hz) 要防止過度加熱焊接區域. 如果可能的話, 工作應被水淹沒. 在縫電阻焊, 其實工作應該被淹沒在水中, 要排除空氣從熱影響區,並盡可能迅速冷卻金屬.

RWMA 類 2 電焊條推薦,它應該具有水冷. 可以很容易地在硝酸酸洗去除任何銅撿起來一鈮, 它不會攻擊鈮. 正如已經強調, 部分焊焊接前必須徹底清洗. 後部分已打掃乾淨,, 他們應該處理起毛的棉手套,這樣身體油脂不會污染表面.

熔焊

強, 韌性融合焊縫可以用鈮使用鎢極氬弧焊. 由於焊縫 ’ s 反應性與空氣, 必須進行某些修改對 TIG 方法.

最好的辦法是焊接在會議廳, 使用氬氣或氬和氦氣的混合物. 如果分庭焊接是不實際的或不可用, 焊接在正常的氣氛中可以做適當的夾具,為惰性氣體氣氛不僅提供軟熔帶, 但也為熱影響區. 尾隨的盾牌,以保護在冷卻過程中的熔合區和金屬必須不暴露在空氣直到溫度已經降至 260 攝氏度 (500 度 F) 或更低. 焊縫區的背側也必須與惰性氣體保護焊接和冷卻迴圈期間的保護.

正常板的厚度 .050″ 或少可以不使用焊條焊接. 重表經常需要使用的焊條. 應使用光杆. 使用鍍膜的杆或任何流量不是很好的做法, 由於熔鈮與所有已知的通量的反應. 清潔的材料以及焊條焊接至關重要.

要求報價

回到鈮

Atomic Number:41
Atomic Weight:92.9064
Density:8.57 g/cc
Melting Point:2750 K, 2468 degrees C, 4490 degrees F
Boiling Point:5017K, 4927 degrees C, 8571 degrees F
Coefficient of Thermal Expansion (20 degrees C):7.1 x 10-6/degrees C
Electrical Resistivity (20 degrees C):15 microhms-cm
Electrical Conductivity:13.2% IACS
Specific Heat:.126 cal/g/degrees C
Thermal Conductivity:
.523 cal/cm2/cm degrees C/sec
Crystal Structure:bcc
Thermal Neutron Cross Section:1.1 b

Machining Niobium

All of the normal machining techniques can be used for Niobium. Niobium has a strong tendency to gall. Special attention needs to be paid to tool design and lubricant use. In lathe turning, the metal behaves similar to soft copper. The use of high speed tooling with adequate lubrication and cooling with soluble oil following the parameters given here is recommended.

Although carbide tools can be used, the tendency to gall is more pronounced with them with high speed steel. In turning, the metal should be removed in a shearing action and the chip allowed to slide off the tool surface. When build-up of the chip occurs, the resulting pressure breaks the cutting edge of the tool.

The machining recommendations shown in the accompanying table generally give satisfactory results. The minimum surface speed of 80 feet per minute is important. Slower speeds will cause the metal to tear, particularly annealed stock. Normally, unannealed metal is preferred for lathe operations.

Tooling Recommendations for Machining Niobium
Approach angles:15-20 degrees
Side Rake:30-35 degrees
Side and End Clearances:5 degrees
Plan Relief Angle:15-20 degrees
Nose Radius:.020″-.030″
Cutting Speed:60-80 feet / minute with high speed steel; 250-300 feet / minute with carbide tools
Feed, Roughing .008″-.012″ / revolution
Depth of cut:.030″-.125″

Drilling

Standard high speed drills can be used with good results. The peripheral lands of the drill should be checked often for excessive wear to prevent drilling undersized holes.

Grinding

Grinding niobium is difficult. Most grinding wheels have a tendency to load, and silicon carbide wheels such as Carborundum 120-T (for rough grinding) and 120-R or 150-R (for finishing) should be used. An adequate supply of cooling water is desirable.

Threading

Standard techniques for threading can be used when enough lubricant is available to reduce the galling tendency and consequent tearing of the metal from the surfaces. In threading larger diameters, it is better to cut the threads on a lathe rather than with a threading die. When dies or taps are used, they must be kept free of chips and cleaned often.

Blanking and Punching

Dies and punches made of steels usually used for this purpose are satisfactory for niobium. A 6% clearance between the punch and the die is recommended. Light oils or similar lubricants should be used to prevent scoring the dies.

Form Stamping

Beryllium copper, aluminum bronzes, and steel may be used for tools. The techniques used can be the same as used for stamping steel. The tools should be polished to reduce the tendency to gall as much as possible. Light oils or similar lubricants should also be used, again to reduce the chances of galling.

Deep Drawing

Annealed niobium can be deep drawn without too much difficulty. Tool materials recommended for form stamping are also good for drawing operations. Single draws where the depth of the draw does not exceed the diameter of the blank can be accomplished. If more than one draw is to be made, the first draw should not have a depth greater than 40% of the blank diameter. Intermediate annealing in a vacuum may be desirable with multiple draws. Sulfonated tallow and Johnson’s 150 drawing wax can be used as lubricants.

Spinning

Niobium can be spun by conventional techniques using wood formers and steel roller wheels in conjunction with an adequate lubricant such as sulfonated tallow or Johnson’s 150 wax. Spinning is done at room temperature. Beryllium copper or aluminum bronzes are adequate for the tooling. The metal should be worked in small steps or stages with long sweeping strokes using light pressure rather than a few heavy strokes.

Welding

As already stated, niobium is a very reactive metal. It reacts with all of the common gases. The metal also reacts with surface contaminants such as oil, grease, residues from degreasing solutions, and residues from cleaning fluids such as acetone. It is for these reasons the surfaces of metal to be welded, either by fusion or resistance welding must be absolutely clean before welding.

An acid etch in a solution of 45 parts nitric acid, 1 part hydroflouric acid, and the rest water at ambient temperatures or up to 65 degrees C (150 degrees F) is acceptable. The amount of hydrofluoric acid may be increased if a more severe etching action is needed. The metal should be thoroughly rinsed after etching, preferably in distilled or deionized water.

Resistance Welding

Resistance welding of niobium to niobium and certain other metals can be done with conventional equipment and techniques. Because of it’s high melting point and relatively low electrical resistance, niobium requires a high power input to obtain a sound weld. Weld duration should be kept as short as possible, preferably 1-10 seconds (60Hz) to prevent excessive heating of the weld area. If at all possible, the work should be flooded with water. In seam resistance welding, the work actually should be submerged in water, to exclude both air from the heat affected zone and to cool the metal as rapidly as possible.

RWMA Class 2 welding electrodes are recommended and should have water cooling. Any copper pick up on the niobium could be easily removed by pickling in nitric acid, which will not attack niobium. As already emphasized, the parts to be welded must be thoroughly cleaned before welding. After the parts have been cleaned, they should be handled with lint-free cotton gloves so that body oils will not contaminate the surfaces.

Fusion Welding

Strong, ductile fusion welds can be made with niobium using TIG welding. Because of the weld’s reactivity with air, certain modifications to the TIG method must be made.

The best approach is to weld in a chamber, using argon or a mixture of argon and helium. If chamber welding is not practical or not available, welding in a normal atmosphere can be done with proper fixturing to provide an inert gas atmosphere not only for the molten zone, but also for the heat affected zone. Trailing shields are necessary to protect the fusion zone during cooling and the metal must not be exposed to air until the temperature has dropped to 260 degrees C (500 degrees F) or lower. The back side of the weld zone must also be protected with inert gas shield during both the welding and cooling cycles.

Normal sheet with a thickness of .050″ or less can be welded without using a filler rod. Heavier sheet often requires the use of filler rod. Bare rod should be used. Use of coated rod or any flux is not good practice, since molten niobium reacts with all of the known fluxes. Cleanliness of the material to be welded as well as the filler rod is essential.

Request a Quote

Back to Niobium