车削和铣削

在车床的操作, 应使用硬质合金刀具与切削速度高. 工具应该成为保持的锋利及地面用更积极的耙子作为工具可以承受. 相同的耙和角度用铜将是令人满意. 最小速度为 100 表面英尺每分钟将为大多数的车削加工工作. 较慢的速度会导致金属撕. 适当的润滑剂应作为切削介质和工作在任何时候都必须是好水淹. 同样的程序基本上用于当铣钻床录音录像或线程钽. 错的齿型铣刀与大量的背部和侧救济的建议. 当正在使用模具或水龙头, 他们应该是免费的芯片,而存放尽可能干净. 钻进时, 必须解除的钻点,以便它不摩擦材料. 线程处理,最好是在一台车床,而不是踩死.

磨削

磨削钽是极其困难. 磨削退火的钽是几乎不可能. 然而, 冷工作的钽可以有限的成功使用氧化铝诺顿 38A 60 车轮或相当于地面.

焊接

由于钽 ’ s 亲和力的吸杂, 任何熔焊焊缝有无污染的气氛中进行. 这就要求不仅焊水坑, 但所有的金属必须保护. 有四个程序,用来维持保护.

电子束焊接 – 需要先进的设备. 大多数的焊接是在一个真空室. 电子束焊接生产优质焊缝的特征是窄的焊缝区和良好的渗透. 它是用于复杂, 难达到焊缝, 特别是鱼片和不同截面三通.

流已清除的室 – 当工作是太大,无法容纳任何可用的房型和关节都过于复杂,允许露天焊接时,应使用流清除室. 外壳是由聚乙烯板和美纹纸胶带. 氩流经袋取代或混合到一个可以进行焊接的水平截留的空气. 必须允许氩气流直到所有的工作都很酷. 存储模块的所有各方的工作是强制性的.

干箱或真空吹分庭 – 干框中提供最优越的惰性气体气氛. 部件放在一个盒子. 密封室和真空拉在盒子上. 正常的做法是泵约 50 微米. 框中然后回到充满高纯坦克氩到轻微的正压. 焊接然后做使用橡胶手套插入通过双方分庭.

打开空气焊接 – 与钽是可能的, 但只有当采取最严格的预防措施. 只有相对简单联合允许适当屏蔽是可能的. 保护,必须考虑到弧, 在前面的金属, 向两侧和后面和下方焊缝冷却金属. 通过使用温和的气流从最大大小杯可能符合良好的能见度提供保护气氛. 橡皮布的惰性气体必须提供通过使用正确构造尾随提供气体辉光,直到金属冷却临界温度以下的盾牌. 备份从焊缝背面屏蔽珠应该也可用来提供保护,直到材料冷却.

形成

在退火状态, 钽是极其韧性. 大多数金属板工作被用厚度范围 .004″ 自 .060″

拉深

拉深, 应使用只有退火的材料. 钽不能尽快地变硬和大多数金属. 如果这块要在一个操作中绘制, 一场平局的深度即等于直径的空白,可. 如果多个绘图操作正在进行, 第一次抽签应有的深度不超过 40-50% 直径的.

冲裁 & 冲孔

在落料、 冲孔的钢模具推荐. 凸模与模之间的间隙应该大约 6% 厚度的金属正在工作. 轻质油的使用建议以防止模具的得分.

形成冲压

为窗体冲压技术是类似于那些用低碳钢,除了应采取预防措施,避免夺取或撕裂金属. 模具可制成除了钢时相当滑的金属. 在这种情况, 应使用铝青铜或铜铍. 低熔点合金如 Kirksite 可用于运行短. 在需要时,必须使用橡胶或气动模垫. 钽在退火状态需要压缩永久变形的形成和喜悦不从模具回来.

纺纱

旋转可通过常规技术. 钢辊车轮全名及用作工具. 在短距离上的但是可以使用黄铜. 黄色的肥皂或约翰逊不 150 画蜡可以用作润滑剂.

退火

罩式光亮退钽的过程是加热材料 n 到上面的温度高真空 2000 度 F.

耐腐蚀性能

钽闻名 ’ s 优良的耐蚀性对大部分的酸腐蚀. 类似于玻璃, 氢氟酸是少数例外之一. 应避免任何含有氟化物离子的溶液. 它也可以由硫 mioxide 攻击, 集中强碱和某些熔盐. 在温度不超过 300 度 F 最有机和无机液体不会影响钽. 对于几乎所有的腐蚀性气体,包括干或湿或氯和溴也是如此. 温度超过 300 度 F. 除非从间质污染保护,否则可能会导致长期脆化问题. 钽也保持优异的抗攻击的液态金属钠, 锂, 镁, 汞和钾在温度达 2000 度 F.

要求报价

回到钽

Turning and Milling

In lathe operations, cemented carbide tools with high cutting speeds should be used. The tools should be kept sharp and ground with as much positive rake as the tool can withstand. The same rakes and angles used with copper will be satisfactory. A minimum speed of 100 surface feet per minute will work for most Turning operations. Slower speeds will cause the metal to tear. A proper lubricant should be used as a cutting medium and the work must be well flooded at all times. Basically the same procedures should be used when milling drilling taping or threading tantalum. Staggered  tooth type milling cutters with substantial back and side relief are recommended. When dies or taps are being used, they should be kept free  of chips and kept as clean as possible. When drilling, the point of the drill must be relieved so that it does not rub the material. Threading is best done on a lathe rather than a treading die.

Grinding

Grinding tantalum is extremely difficult. Grinding annealed tantalum is almost impossible. However, cold worked tantalum can be ground with limited success using aluminum oxide Norton 38A-60 wheels or equivalent.

Welding

Because of tantalum’s affinity for gettering, any fusion weld has to be performed in an atmosphere free of contamination. This requires not only the weld puddle, but all to metal must protected. There are four procedures used to maintain protection.

Electron Beam Welding – requires advanced equipment. Most welding is done in a vacuum chamber. Electron Beam Welding produces excellent quality welds which are characterized by narrow weld zones and good penetration. It is useful for intricate, tough to reach weld, particularly fillets and tees of different cross sections.

Flow Purged Chamber – A flow purged chamber should be used when the work is too large to fit any available chamber and the  joints are too complex to allow open air welding. The enclosure is made of polyethelene sheet and masking tape. Argon flowing through the bag displaces or mixes the entrapped air to a level where welding can be performed. The argon must be allowed to flow until all of the work is cool. Enclosure of all sides of the work is Mandatory.

Dry Box or Vacuum Purge Chamber – The dry box provides the most superior inert gas atmosphere. The parts are placed in a box. The chamber is sealed and a vacuum is pulled on the box. Normal practice is to pump down to approximately 50 microns. The box is then back filled with high purity tank argon to a slight positive pressure. Welding is then done using rubber gloves inserted through the sides of the chamber.

Open Air Welding – with tantalum is possible, but only when the most stringent precautions are taken. Only relatively simple joint allowing  adequate shielding are possible. Protection has to be given to  the arc, the metal in front, to the sides and to the cooling metal behind and underneath the weld bead. The protective atmosphere is provided by using a gentle gas flow from the maximum size cup possible consistent with good visibility. A blanket of inert gas must be supplied by using properly constructed trailing shields which provide a glow of gas until the metal is cooled below the critical temperature. Back up shielding on the underside from the weld bead should also be used to provide protection until the material is cooled.

Forming

In the annealed condition, tantalum is extremely ductile. Most sheet metal work is performed with a thickness range of .004″ to .060″

Deep Drawing

For deep drawing, only annealed material should be used. Tantalum does not work harden as quickly as most metals. If the piece is going to be drawn in One operation, a draw of which the depth is equal to the diameter of the blank can be made. IF more than one drawing operation is going to be performed, the first draw should have a depth of not more than 40-50% of the diameter.

Blanking & Punching

In blanking and punching steel dies are recommended. The clearance between the punch and the die should be approximately 6% of the thickness of the metal being worked. The use of a light oil is recommended to prevent scoring of the dies.

Form Stamping

The techniques for form stamping are similar to the ones used with mild steel except precautions should be taken to avoid seizing or tearing the metal. Dies can be made of steel except when there is considerable slipping of the metal. In this situation, aluminum bronze or beryllium copper should be used. Low melting alloys such as Kirksite may be used for short runs. Rubber or pneumatic die cushions must be used when required. Tantalum in the annealed state takes a permanent set in the forming and it does not spring back from the dies.

Spinning

Spinning may be accomplished by conventional techniques. Steel roller wheels whould be used as tools. However on short runs yellow brass can be used. Yellow soap or Johnsons No 150 drawing wax can be used as a lubricant.

Annealing

The process for anealing tantalum is to heat the material n a high vacum to temperatures above 2000 degree F.

Corrosion Resistance

Tantalum is known for it’s excellent corrosion resistance to most acids. Similar to glass, one of the few exceptions is hydrofluoric acid. Any solution containing the fluoride ion should be avoided. It can also be attacked by sulfur mioxide, concentrated strong alkalis and certain molten salts. At temperatures not exceeding 300 degrees F most organic and inorganic liquids will not affect tantalum. The same is true for nearly all corrosive gases including either wet or dry chlorine and bromine.  Temperatures in excess of 300 degrees F. could lead to longer term embrittlement problems unless there is protection from interstitial contamination. Tantalum also maintains superior resistance to attack by liquid metals such as sodium, lithium, magnesium, mercury and potassium in temperatures up to 2000 degrees F.

Request a Quote

Back to Tantalum