كيف الفاناديوم يمكن أن تساعد في حل مشاكل الطاقة لدينا

فاناديوم سمعت من الفاناديوم? هو معدن لم يسمع معظم الناس– بعد. فاناديوم ويمكن أن تلعب دوراً رئيسيا في توفير الطاقة لعالمنا في السنوات القادمة.

الأولى, على الرغم, النظر في هاواي, الذي يحصل على ضوء الشمس أكثر من معظم الدول. وبسبب موقعها البعيد, الكهرباء لهاواي تبلغ أكثر من ثلاثة إضعاف في الولايات المتحدة. في المتوسط, الكثير من سكانها ولجأت إلى تسخير الشمس للطاقة مع الألواح الشمسية فوق أسطح منازلهم. شيء واحد, على الرغم, أن يجعل الطاقة الشمسية "محرجا" أن تشرق الشمس ألمع في مناطق معينة في أوقات معينة. في طريقة, أنها مثل بعد الشمس الزائد الذي يمكن أن يكون مجرد الكثير للوحات والناس للتعامل. ماذا لو كان هناك طريقة رائعة لتخزين طاقة الشمس لبضع ساعات بعد أوقات الذروة, لاستخدامها عند الحاجة إليها أكثر…خلال الساعات الناس الوصول إلى منزله من العمل وترغب في تشغيل أجهزة التلفزيون, أفران, والغسالات?

إيجاد حل لهذه المشكلة وقد تأتي من الفاناديوم. الملغومة أصلاً لاستخدامها للمساعدة على خلق سبيكة فولاذية قوية على نحو استثنائي, فاناديوم لديه القدرة على استخدامها للبطاريات– هذا النوع لتخزين الطاقة من الشمس.

يمكن استخدام بطاريات مع الفاناديوم لتخزين تصل كميات كبيرة من الطاقة والتي يمكن بعد ذلك الإفراج عنهم في بعض الأحيان عندما تشتد الحاجة إلى. ويمكن شحن هذه البطاريات عن 20,000 مرات. المنافسة, حاليا, ويشمل بطاريات الليثيوم, يمكن معالجة فقط بين 1,000 و 2,000 تم شحنها قبل الزوال. أيضا, بطاريات الليثيوم ليست قادرة على تخزين, على سبيل المثال, احتياجات الطاقة للمجتمع كله لعدة ساعات, وفي حين يمكن البطاريات فاناديوم.

وفي الوقت الحالي, ليست هناك الكثير من الألغام الفاناديوم وحالما يتم استخدامه من غير المتجددة. احتياجات السوق ستحدد ما إذا كان أو لم يكن الفاناديوم يصبح مرادفاً للبطاريات في السنوات القادمة. قد يكون هناك أيضا شركات تطوير طرق رخيصة لإنتاج الفاناديوم اﻻلكتروﻻيت من ركاز الحديد الخبث والرماد غرامة. و, إذا الفاناديوم المصيد على, بل هناك إمكانات للحصاد من النافورات البحر في المحيط الهادئ. وسوف أقول الوقت.

How Vanadium Could Help Solve Our Energy Problems

Vanadium Have you heard of vanadium? It’s a metal most people haven’t heard of– yet. Vanadium could play a key role in delivering energy to our world in the years to come.

First, though, consider Hawaii, which gets more sunshine than most states. Because of its remote location, Hawaii’s electricity costs more than three times the U.S. average, so many of its residents have resorted to harnessing the sun for power with solar panels atop their roofs. One thing, though, that makes solar power “awkward” is that the sun shines brightest in certain areas at certain times. In a way, it’s like having a sunshine overload that can be just too much for panels and people to handle. What if there was a great way to store the sun’s energy for a couple hours after peak times, to be used when it’s more needed…during the hours people get home from work and want to run their TVs, ovens, and washing machines?

A solution to this problem may come from vanadium. Originally mined to be used to help create an exceptionally strong steel alloy, vanadium has the potential to be used for batteries– the kind to store energy from the sun.

Batteries made with vanadium can be used to store up large amounts of energy which can then be released at times when most needed. These batteries can be recharged about 20,000 times. Their competition, currently, includes lithium batteries, which can only handle between 1,000 and 2,000 recharges before dying out. Also, lithium batteries aren’t able to store, for example, a whole community’s energy needs for several hours, while vanadium batteries can.

At the present time, there aren’t that many vanadium mines and once it’s used it’s not renewable. Market needs will determine whether or not vanadium becomes synonymous with batteries in the years to come. There may also be companies developing cheap ways of producing vanadium electrolyte from iron ore slag and fine ash. And, if vanadium catches on, there’s even the potential to harvest it from sea squirts in the Pacific Ocean. Time will tell.