如何钒可以帮助解决我们的能源问题

钒 你听说过钒吗? 它是大多数人没听说过的金属– 然而. 钒 可发挥关键作用,几年来提供能源,以我们的世界.

第一次, 虽然, 考虑夏威夷, 其中获取更多的阳光,比大多数国家. 由于其远程位置, 夏威夷的电力成本三倍于美国. 平均, 这么多的居民有诉诸利用太阳光线与顶他们的屋顶上的太阳能电池板发电. 一件事, 虽然, 使太阳能发电"尴尬"是太阳照耀最明亮在某些地区某些时候. 在一种方式, 就像有过载,阳光可以是太板和人来处理. 如果有了一个伟大的方式,将太阳的能量存储在高峰时间后几小时, 用于更需要的时候…在时间人下班回到家,想要运行他们的电视, 烤箱, 和洗衣机?

解决这个问题可能来自钒. 最初开采将用于帮助创建异常强劲的钢合金, 钒潜力用于电池– 这种存储来自太阳的能量.

含钒电池可以用于存储了大量的能量,然后时可以释放有时最需要的. 这些电池可以充电关于 20,000 时间. 他们的竞争对手, 目前, 包括锂电池, 这只能处理之间 1,000 和 2,000 充电前消亡. 还, 锂电池不能存储, 举个例子, 几个小时的整个社会的能源需求, 虽然钒电池可以.

在目前的时间, 没有那么多钒地雷和曾经是它是不能再生. 市场的需求将决定在未来几年变得同义与电池钒. 可能也有便宜的方式生产钒电解液从铁矿烧渣和粉煤灰开发公司. 和, 如果在赶上了钒, 甚至还有可能从太平洋的海鞘收获. 时间会告诉我们.

How Vanadium Could Help Solve Our Energy Problems

Vanadium Have you heard of vanadium? It’s a metal most people haven’t heard of– yet. Vanadium could play a key role in delivering energy to our world in the years to come.

First, though, consider Hawaii, which gets more sunshine than most states. Because of its remote location, Hawaii’s electricity costs more than three times the U.S. average, so many of its residents have resorted to harnessing the sun for power with solar panels atop their roofs. One thing, though, that makes solar power “awkward” is that the sun shines brightest in certain areas at certain times. In a way, it’s like having a sunshine overload that can be just too much for panels and people to handle. What if there was a great way to store the sun’s energy for a couple hours after peak times, to be used when it’s more needed…during the hours people get home from work and want to run their TVs, ovens, and washing machines?

A solution to this problem may come from vanadium. Originally mined to be used to help create an exceptionally strong steel alloy, vanadium has the potential to be used for batteries– the kind to store energy from the sun.

Batteries made with vanadium can be used to store up large amounts of energy which can then be released at times when most needed. These batteries can be recharged about 20,000 times. Their competition, currently, includes lithium batteries, which can only handle between 1,000 and 2,000 recharges before dying out. Also, lithium batteries aren’t able to store, for example, a whole community’s energy needs for several hours, while vanadium batteries can.

At the present time, there aren’t that many vanadium mines and once it’s used it’s not renewable. Market needs will determine whether or not vanadium becomes synonymous with batteries in the years to come. There may also be companies developing cheap ways of producing vanadium electrolyte from iron ore slag and fine ash. And, if vanadium catches on, there’s even the potential to harvest it from sea squirts in the Pacific Ocean. Time will tell.